Saltar apartados

IN-DEPTH ADAPTATION

"In-depth adaptation" is an initiative about diving adapted to young people with disabilities

The University of Alicante, keeping its commitment to integration through sport, launches "In-depth Adaptation", a project about diving adapted to young people with disabilities in the province, in the scuba diving modality. ASUA , the Underwater Activities section of the University of Alicante, is the promoter of an initiative that will enable 25 young people with mental disability to take profit from this experience.

This new project is the result of the collaboration agreement between UPAPSA (the provincial union of associations for people with mental disabilities of Alicante) and the Sports Service of the University of Alicante, which includes the Underwater Activities section of the UA.

The first stage of “In-depth Adaptation” will last four months (from November to February), and diving instructors of ASUA will be in charge. The first sessions will take place at the swimming pool of the University of Alicante. The main goal is, quoting ASUA coordinator and instructor Enrique Díaz, "that young people discover an activity that, with little adaptation, may be accessible to anyone, regardless of his or her condition" . The objective is that this activity is established in a continuous programme of Adapted Diving in which several groups of disabled people from the Province of Alicante can take part.

This project is related to previous actions launched by ASUA and the F.A.S.C.V. (the federation of underwater activities of the Valencian Community). In July 2013, the FASCV organised, in cooperation with ASUA and the University of Alicante, the 2nd training course of divers and instructors specialised in Adapted Diving in the Province of Alicante, with the participation of approximately twenty people, counting divers and instructors. Some weeks later, ASUA organised the first conference on Adapted Diving with a group of over 15 young people with visual impairment from the ONCE. In November 2013 ASUA and the people in charge of UPAPSA established a first contact, which has resulted in this initial collaboration programme.

Date

Association

Saturday, 12 January - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

San Rafael y Capaz

Friday, 25 January - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

C.O. Maigmó

Friday, 8 February - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

DOMUS

Saturday, 9 February - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

C.O. La Tramoia

Friday, 22 February - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

Azahares

Saturday, 23 February - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

APADIS

Friday, 8 March - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

Centro Ocupacional La Torreta

Saturday, 9 March - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

APADIS

Friday, 22 March - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

DOMUS

Saturday, 23 March - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

APSA

Friday, 5 April - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

APDA

Friday, 26 April - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

Centro Ocupacional Gormaget

Saturday, 27 April - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Centro Ocupacional San Pascual

Friday, 10 May - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

Centro Ocupacional Maigmó

Friday, 24 May - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

Centro Ocupacional Gormaget

Saturday, 25 May - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

San Rafael y Capaz

Friday, 7 June - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

APDA

Saturday, 8 June - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

APSA

Friday, 28 June - 12 noon to 2 p.m.

Centro Ocupacional Altabix

 

 

SPORTS SERVICE


Universidad de Alicante
C/ Alicante, s/n
03690 - San Vicente del Raspeig
Alicante (Spain)

Tel: (+34) 96 590 37 39

Fax: (+34) 96 590 93 02

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/deporteenlaua

For further information: informacio@ua.es, and for enquiries on this web server: webmaster@ua.es

Carretera San Vicente del Raspeig s/n - 03690 San Vicente del Raspeig - Alicante - Tel. 96 590 3400 - Fax 96 590 3464